Dubai International Best Practices Award for Sustainable Development

  • Deadline for Applications
  • April 30, 2020
Description of Program​

Building a better future

The Dubai International Best Practices Award for Sustainable Development aims to recognize global innovative practices that have made a positive impact; and continue to improve the quality of people’s life leading to the cities of the future.

$1M in prizes to be awarded at Expo 2020 Dubai.

Transformative. Global. Tangible.

Now reaching its 25th year, the award recognises the world’s best practices that demonstrate valuable contributions to sustainable urban development, as a result of effective partnerships between public, private, and civic sectors.

About the award

Established in 1995—under the directive of the late Sheikh Maktoum Bin Rashid Al Maktoum during the United Nations International Conference in Dubai—as an outcome of the Dubai Declaration. This declaration created the international concept of sharing Best Practices for the accelerated development of the human settlements sector.

Learn more


1. Best Practices Award in Urban Regeneration and Public Spaces

This category caters for addressing the cities of the future; finding ways in which cities ensure to provide affordable housing and access to food, water, clean air, mobility, public life and nature for continuously more numerous urban populations.

Learn more

2. Best Practices Award in Construction of Sustainable, Innovative and Smart Buildings

This category caters for finding sustainable, innovative, and smart projects for the development of smart buildings in order to limit environmental impact, increase human well-being and contribute to the achievement of sustainable development goals.

Learn more

3. Best Practices Award in Sustaining Urban Food Systems

This category caters for systemic change and much improved access to food by all people while maintaining a strong connection between food production, storage and supply to local, regional and global beneficiaries showing an impact on human settlements.

Learn more

4. Best Practices Award in Addressing Climate Change and Reducing Pollution

This category caters for solutions addressing climate change, pollution reduction, and the protection of a thriving biodiversity including long-term governance mechanics, stakeholder participation and circular economy.

Learn more

5. Best Practices Award in Urban Infrastructure Planning and Management

This category caters for finding adaptable, local and resilient solutions, that will enable longer lifecycle of infrastructure, due to the fast-paced transformations in line with the 4th industrial revolution relying on innovative, futuristic and sustainable projects improving living conditions.

Learn more

Who can apply?

The award is open to all sectors: national and regional governments, local authorities and their associations, non-governmental organizations, multilateral agencies, community based organizations, research and academic institutions, public and private foundations, media entities and individuals.

Download Award Handbook

Sharing is caring!

Type of Funding
Date of Program
Contact for Additional Information
Related post

Call for Applications, One World...

One World Media Fellowship is aimed at aspiring journalists and filmmakers, who seek to make…

Deadline extended: Apply for creative...

We’re seeking four creative hub leaders from the UK to connect and collaborate with hub…

Call for Entries, The Lorenzo...

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to recognise and celebrate excellence in…
Share this post
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Scroll to Top


40,000 subscribers already enjoy our premium stuff.